About Us

The roots of The Heritage foundation may be traced back to 1991 when Marketing Consultant David Graham and friend John Gatenby reached the conclusion that not enough was being done to acknowledge and recognise the achievements of some our country’s finest entertainers. Together they conspired to erect a Blue Plaque in memory of the legendary comedy actor, Peter Sellers in Highgate, London and thus The Dead Comics Society was formed. A further nine plaques were unveiled to comedy greats over the next three years before Graham and Gatenby parted company in 1994, the latter to co create The British Comedy Society and Graham to set up Comic Heritage. 

By the year 2000, The Heritage Foundation had evolved to its present form with David Graham as Chairman. The Foundation now encompasses Comic Heritage, Musical Heritage, Sports Heritage and Films and Television Heritage. Essentially the aim of the Foundation is to combine paying tribute to Britain’s wealth of talent who have brought pleasure and joy to millions through their performance or technical skills while raising funds for good causes through our charity The Arts and Entertainment Charitable Trust. This Trust has supported a range of national and regional charities over the years including Childline, The Variety Club Children’s Charity, Imperial Cancer Research, British Strokes Association, British Heart Foundation, Aspire, Parkinson’s Disease Society, Lymphoma Association, Manx Mencap, Lord Taverners, National Playing Fields Association, Children of Chernobyl, Rochdale Mayors Appeal, South Bucks NHS Trust, Derrain House Children’s Hospice, Tree of Hope, The Grand Order of Water Rats and The Entertainment Artistes’ Benevolent Fund with other causes and charities always being considered to benefit from The Heritage Foundations work. 

Fund raising events take place on a regular basis throughout the year when supporters are given the opportunity to enjoy fine dining in exclusive surroundings midst the company of high profile celebrities, entertainers, sportsmen and women. The events include erecting permanent memorials in the shape of Blue Plaques, staging tribute evenings, luncheons, garden parties and concerts. The Foundation also honour today’s talent whether on stage, television, in performance, production or scriptwriting with the presentation of Heritage Foundation Awards given at the star studded Annual Awards Gala Ceremony held in June each year.

The Heritage Foundation could not achieve its aims without the continued support of a large number of people from the world of show business and all you out there, who so generously contribute to our work by way of attending events, making donations or giving time to our cause for which we are most grateful.

Commissioning Of Blue Plaques

Heritage Foundation Blue Plaques are commissioned either directly by the Foundation itself or as a result of a nomination by the friends or fans of the celebrity in question. Once a nomination has been put forward to the directors, a joint decision is reached and plans are instigated for the unveiling. 

Designed by Leander Architectural of Buxton, Derbyshire, the artwork is sent for approval prior to work commencing on the casting. Each plaque is cast in recycled aluminium with conservation of the planet in mind.

The site of the plaque’s permanent home is decided in consultation with the Foundation, the celebrity’s family or nominator, the owner of the property on which the plaque is to be mounted along with the local council.

The unveilings attract a great deal of media interest and are followed by a Tribute Luncheon.

The Heritage Foundation is always open to suggestions for nominations. Applications should be made to Chairman David Graham whose contact details are listed below.

David Graham
30 Highcroft. North Hill. Highgate. London N64RD
Tel/Fax No. 0208 3429953
Mobile No. 07703 397270
Sales & Credit Card Hotline 0208 3429953

The Heritage Foundation Management Team

  President – Vicki Michelle MBE  
  Vice President – Jeffrey Holland  
  Chairman – David Graham  
  Chairman – David Graham  
  Director - Les Reed OBE  
  Director - Dennis Gimes  
  Company Secretary – Ian Stokes  




The Heritage Foundation Voluntary Team

Annabel Walsh - Trevor Wigmore - Ted Taggart - Julian Franks


Sir William Blackburne - Phil Collins LVO - The Hon Sue Nicholls - Nicholas Parsons OBE - David King MBE - Ian Freeman - David Graham - Ian Stokes


The Rt. Hon. The Lord Pendry - Sir Sydney Chapman MP - Lord Michael Grade CBE - June Whitfield CBE - Nicholas Parsons OBE - David King MBE - Madeline Bell - Steve Collins  - Graeme McCaffery Lisa Voice - Ernest Maxim - Harold Snoad - Andy Woodward - Lord Brian Roberts Davidson - Dwina Gibb - RJ Gibb - Lord Martyn Rose - Dave Berry

Celebrity Members

Russ Abbot - Frank Allen - John Altman - Lezlie Anders - Peter Baldwin - Lynda Baron - Alan J W Bell – David Benson - Perry Benson - Dave Berry - Mike Berry - Brian Bovell - Suzie Brann - Garry Bushell - Judy Buxton- Wyn Calvin MBE - Todd Carty - John Challis - Roy Clarke OBE - Kenny Clayton - Graham Cole - John D. Collins - Jess Conrad OBE - Ray Cooney OBE - Jimmy Cricket - Bobby Crush - Barry Cryer OBE - Jon Culshaw - Pamela Cundell - Billie Davis - Anita Dobson - Ken Dodd OBE - Robert Duncan - Mark Eden - Bella Emberg -  Perry Fenwick - Jean Fergusson - Liz Fraser - Hugh Futcher - Paul Gambaccini - Joe Goodman - Anita Graham - Buddy Greco - Sue Holderness - Jeffrey Holland - Barry Howard - Valerie James - Sir David Jason OBE - David Jensen - Lou Jordan - Juliette Kaplan - Nikki Kelly - Roger Kitter - Michael Knowles - Burt Kwouk OBE - Ian Lavender - Valerie Leon - Jeremy Lloyd- Andrew Lynford - Ruth Madoc - Johnny Mans - Gareth Marks - Derek Martin - Lisa Maxwell - Joan Morecambe - Johnny More - Laila Morse - Mitch Murray - Sue Nicholls - Richard O’Callaghan - Tom O'Connor - Jimmy Perry OBE - Mark Perry - Gordon Peters - Leslie Phillips CBE OBE - Jacki Piper - Su Pollard - P J Proby - Les Reed OBE - Shane Richie - John Savident - Graham Stark - Stan Stennett MBE - Jeff Stewart - Ben Stock - Peter Straker - Roberta Taylor - Sue Upton - Frank Williams - Barbara Windsor MBE - Doreen Wise - Bill Wyman 

Past Presidents

2012 - Vicki Michelle MBE - 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 - Robin Gibb CBE 2007 - James Whale 2006 - Rick Wakeman 2005 - Rick Wakeman 2004 - Anita Harris 2003 - Anita Harris 2002 - John Inman 2001 - Bobby Davro 2000 - Tom O’Connor 1999 - Ernie Wise OBE 1998 - Phil Collins LVO 1997 - Phil Collins LVO 1996 Sir Norman Wisdom

Working on behalf of the Arts & Entertainment Charitable Trust
Registered Charity: 1031027